Dewey Public Schools

Posted: Aug 07, 2019 3:06 PMUpdated: Aug 07, 2019 4:00 PM

Dewey's State Teacher of the Year Finalist Reimbursed

Share on RSS


Garrett Giles

After being named one of the finalist for Oklahoma's Teacher of the Year, the Dewey Board of Education has decided to reimburse Cassandra Stauder.

$150 was approved this week to be paid back to Stauder from the Dewey Education Foundation Activity Fund account. The money is for costs associated with a video production for her Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year finalist nomination.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister named twelve finalists towards the end of July with Stuader being named one of the finalist for Dewey. The 2020 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be named Sept. 17 in a ceremony at State Fair Park in Oklahoma City.

Beginning July 1, 2020, the honoree will assume full-time Teacher of the Year duties, which include speaking engagements and serving as Oklahoma’s teacher ambassador, encouraging others to enter or remain in the profession. The 2019 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year, Becky Oglesby of Yukon, will continue to tour the state until July 2020.

Stauder, teacher and a 2003 graduate of Dewey High School, was named today as one of twelve finalists for the 2020 Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year award. Mrs. Stauder started teaching at Dewey in 2016 and currently teaches Advanced Placement Biology and Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). She also serves as the Dewey High School Academic Team Coach. After being named Dewey’s District Teacher of the Year in April, she was selected as a state finalist by a panel of educators, legislators, and members of business and nonprofit organizations. Mrs. Stauder will now submit a video and complete an interview process in hopes of earning the 2020 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year honor. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on September 17th in Oklahoma City.

« Back to News